ICC Awards: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma Win Big, Ben Stokes Bags ‘World Player Of The Year’

It is common knowledge that awards are a very cheap form of validating a person’s efforts while undermining the work done by hundreds of others for the sake of entertainment. With all that said, seeing your country being named repeatedly at the International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards does bring a sense of satisfaction. I won’t lie about that.

The ICC Awards are meant to recognise and honour the best international cricket players of the year and was institutionalised by the ICC since 2004. The players who have been awarded previously are Rahul Dravid, Andrew Flintoff, Irfan Pathan, Jacques Kallis, Kevin Pietersen, Ricky Ponting, Mohammad Yousouf, Matthew Hayden, M.S. Dhoni, Dale Steyn, and more. And this year’s winners are as follows:

And here’s the Test team of the year:

Some Twitter users have made memes and awarded players with fictional awards as well:

I think that this will be a great motivator for the players who have been awarded. For those who haven’t, I hope that they aren’t disheartened and continue to strive to be the very best in their field.

SEE ALSO: MS Dhoni Named Captain of Cricket Australia’s ODI Team Of The Decade, Virat Kohli Named Test Captain

Cover image courtesy: Facebook